About Us

The De Vere Society is dedicated to researching, exploring, explaining and revealing how the works of Shakespeare were principally written by the poet, patron and scholar Edward de Vere, 17th Earl of Oxford (1550-1604). We organise trips, tours, theatre visits, lectures and forums; we publish articles and books; we support researchers; and we welcome everyone to membership who appreciates the works of Shakespeare and who is intrigued by the Shakespeare Authorship Question. The Society:

  • Has demonstrated that the case for William Shakspere of Stratford as the author of the Shakespeare canon is very weak;
  • Has shown that the traditional chronology for the works of Shakespeare is strongly conjectural;
  • Has explored the role of Edward de Vere,17th Earl of Oxford, not only as author of the Shakespeare canon but as leader of the movement to establish drama in early modern England.

Please visit the Join Us page if you are interested in Society membership and benefits.

The De Vere Society is a registered charity no. 297855

The DVS Constitution is available from: secretary@deveresociety.co.uk

Honorary Secretary:   Amanda Hinds

Registered address:    3 Meadowhead Road, Southampton, SO16 7AD, UK

 

CHARITY TRUSTEES

Kevin Gilvary ­               President

Amanda Hinds              Honorary Secretary

Patrick O’Brien             Honorary Treasurer

Alexander Waugh         Chairman

CONTACT DETAILS

President                        president@deveresociety.co.uk

Hon. Secretary              secretary@deveresociety.co.uk

Hon. Treasurer              treasurer@deveresociety.co.uk

Chairman                       chairman@deveresociety.co.uk

Newsletter                     newsletter@deveresociety.co.uk

Editor (web/print)        editor@deveresociety.co.uk

Events Co-ordinator    events@deveresociety.co.uk

Committee                     admin@deveresociety.co.uk